First-off…I don’t like cleaning. Give me anything else…sewing, babies (poop and all), cooking, teaching, absolutely anything but cleaning. I don’t like it one bit. I tend to procrastinate, and I also tend to save EVERYTHING…so when I get around to cleaning, I have a bit of work to do. I can get it all done in short order…mostly. I also have Fibromyalgia…so I get the bulk done and I am wore out for days.

 

My go-to methods for keeping things spic and span may be of some help to folks, then, eh?

So…laundry…

My biggest problem with laundry is that we go through so much of it. By the time I get around to doing it if I am procrastinating, I have loads and loads of it…it doesn’t get put away, and then I have to wash it all again. Plus, it usually takes longer than I have energy to cycle it all through.

Rules for Keeping the Beast under control.

#1. Get rid of anything you and your family doesn’t NEED. In my Project Minimalism posts, you will find lists of clothes we chose to keep, but this will be personal to each family. Aim for two days’ worth. Maybe three.

#2. Of course, following the above rule, you will almost have no choice but to do laundry nearly everyday. 😀 THAT is truly the secret here. Do your load everyday (or two, or however much you need to…large families will use more)

#3. As SOON as your load is done, fold it and put it away. Laundry is kinda like crocheting, you can multitask. 🙂 Plus, little ones love to help. 😛 Putting it away is the most important to me. And it’s the least likely to get done, here.

#4. Get your family to put the clothes in the washer as soon as they are dirtied. Seriously.

 

Note: I don’t separate clothes (except for delicates…learned the hard way) and I own a washer and dryer. I imagine it would follow even if I were hand-washing and hang-drying…I just need the constant small loads. They are easier to keep up with for me.

